Organs of State



The President of the Republic is the Head of State, the holder of Executive Power and the Commander-in-Chief of the Angolan Armed Forces. The President of the Republic exercises executive power, assisted by a Vice-President, Ministers of State and other Ministers. The President of the Republic promotes and ensures national unity, independence and territorial integrity of the country, and represents the Nation domestically and internationally. The President respects and upholds the Constitution, ensures compliance with national legislation and with international agreements and treaties, and promotes and ensures the smooth functioning of state bodies.

Message from the President



The National Assembly

The National Assembly is the parliament of the Republic of Angola. The National Assembly is a unicameral body, representative of all Angolans, which expresses the sovereign will of the people and exercises the legislative power of the State. The National Assembly is composed of Members elected under the Constitution and national legislation. Parliament Members are elected by universal, free, equal, direct, secret and periodic suffrage, by national citizens over the age of eighteen, both residing within the national territory and those residing abroad to work, study or due to an illness or similar motive. Parliament Members are elected, by a system of proportional representation, for a five-year term under current legislation. Parliament Members are elected by constituencies; there is a national constituency and constituencies corresponding to each of the provinces. Election of Parliament Members by the constituency follows the following criteria:   a) One hundred and thirty Parliament Members are elected at the national level, in which the country is considered one single national constituency; b) Five Members are elected in each province, which, for this purpose is considered a provincial constituency.

Official Website




The courts are the sovereign body with powers to administer justice on behalf of the people. In the exercise of judicial functions, courts are independent and impartial, subject only to the Constitution and Law. The Higher Courts of the Republic of Angola are the Constitutional Court, the Supreme Court, the Court of Auditors and the Supreme Military Court. The courts’ organisation and functioning system comprises the following:

A common jurisdiction headed by the Supreme Court, also comprising Courts of Appeal and District Courts

– Courts of Appeal are, as a rule, second instance courts

– District Courts are, generally, Courts of First Instance, which can be divided into Specialised Competences or Small Criminal Causes whenever the volume, nature and complexity of the processes so requires.

A military jurisdiction headed by the Supreme Court, also comprising Regional Military Courts

Courts guarantee and ensure compliance with the Constitution, laws and any other regulatory provisions in force, as well as protection of the rights and legitimate interests of citizens and institutions and decide on the legality of administrative acts. Court decisions are binding for all citizens or any other legal entities and shall prevail over those of any other authorities. Judges are independent in the exercise of their functions and owe obedience only to the Constitution and the Law.

Related Sites

Constitutional Court

Supreme Court

Court of Auditors

Laisser un commentaire